Charity Knitting

August 17, 2009

I’ve been busy spinning, dying and knitting a few charity items.

One of the women in my spinning guild brought with her a ton of very lovely alpaca roving that will be spun and knit or crocheted  into warm items to be distributed to people with a need.

My yarn ended up averaging 16 wpi. I wanted to do fair isle knitting so I dyed approximately half the yarn a nice clear blue.

The mittens were a free Ravelry download by Heather Desserud called Ruba’iyat Mittens. This was my first ever attempt at fair isle knitting and I was very pleased with the results. I used the cuff pattern from the mittens on the matching cap.

Ruba'iyat Mittens by Heather Desserud

Fair isle cap

I think I have enough yarn left to knit another hat. The main color will be the natural with the blue as the contrast.

Leave a Reply

